Standards for private organizations

2021 Edition

Community Change Initiatives Definition


Community Change Initiatives mobilize the community for action, strengthen the capacity of residents and organizations to effect and sustain change, build and improve neighborhoods, and lay the groundwork for future progress.


Community Change Initiatives engage community stakeholders in a participatory process designed to improve an identified aspect of the community. Initiatives typically strive to develop local leadership, enhance social capital and personal networks, and strengthen the community’s overall capacity to accomplish tasks and goals. Organizations seeking accreditation for Community Change Initiatives (CCI) work collaboratively with community stakeholders to facilitate this process.


Viewing: CCI - Community Change Initiatives


Examples: The CCI Standards can accommodate both comprehensive and targeted community initiatives. For example, while one initiative might aim to promote broad-based change across all community dimensions, another might have a more targeted focus. Areas targeted may include, but are not limited to: 
  1. economic opportunity and security;
  2. physical development and infrastructure; 
  3. safety and security; 
  4. health and wellness;
  5. education; 
  6. civic participation; 
  7. cultural enrichment; and 
  8. social capital.
Note: While many of COA’s Service Standards, as well as its Administration and Management Standards (see GOV 3), incorporate some of the principles that underlie community building, CCI is designed for organizations that play a more active and deliberate role in facilitating community change.

If an organization primarily builds and improves the community by providing services to individuals (e.g., by providing Workforce Development Services (WDS), or Case Management Services (CM)), the organization should complete that section of standards only. Organizations that provide services to individuals and play an active role in facilitating community change should complete service sections for both activities. For example, an organization that promotes community change by both providing case management and convening community stakeholders should complete both CM and CCI.

Note: Organizations that provide technical assistance to community change initiatives have the option to complete only: CCI 1, CCI 2, CCI 3, CCI 4, and CCI 6. Several of the practice standards within those core concepts also include NAs for technical assistance providers.

Note: Please see CCI Reference List for the research that informed the development of these standards.

Note: For information about changes made in the 2020 Edition, please see the CCI Crosswalk.