Standards for private organizations

COA’s standards for private organizations are designed to promote an organization’s capacity to fulfill its mission. The standards address both administrative and service delivery practices to enable the review and accreditation of the entire organization.

The standards are divided into three parts:

  1. Administration and Management Standards

    The Administration and Management Standards address practices that promote sound operations and management, including governance, financial management, and quality improvement. These apply to all organizations regardless of the services provided or populations served.

  2. Service Delivery Administration Standards

    The Service Delivery Administration Standards address practices related to the administration of services, including client rights, training and supervision, and program administration. These also apply to all organizations.

  3. Service Standards

    Service Standards address practices related to service provision areas across the full continuum of community-based social and behavioral healthcare services. These standards apply based on your organization’s scope and service population, and include:

  • Child, youth, and family services
  • Behavioral health services
  • Aging services
  • Homelessness services
  • Intellectual and developmental disabilities services
  • Residential services
  • Additional social services


Click here to download the complete list of 2023 standards updates for private organizations.

Need crosswalks that summarize the 2023 updates to each standards section? Find a master list here.